Skip to content

Research paper, Does our character/behaviour change when we dispose one of our main features?

April 26, 2010

What happens when something or someone disposes of its main features? What’s left? What lies beneath the surface? Will the object or person be the same? What does it with the meaning of the identity? Does the identity change or will it get lost?

 This sentence inspired me for the following research paper.

Lenny Waasdorp made me think about the main futures of our human being. What if we lose them, will our character or behaviour chance in a noticeable way?

Does our character/behaviour change when we dispose one of our main features?

         Introduction

What happens when something or someone disposes of its main features? What’s left? What lies beneath the surface? Will the object or person be the same? What does it with the meaning of the identity? Does the identity change or will it get lost?

This sentence inspired me for the following research paper.

Lenny Waasdorp made me think about the main futures of our human being. What if we lose them, will our character or behaviour chance in a noticeable way?

Our appearance depends on a few external factors. First of all  the culture we live in,  our family, social class and last but most important our character. But does this character/ behaviour we show our surroundings is the real you, does it changes when we dispose one of our main futures?

In this paper I will investigate this using my own experience. I will test this by disposing one of my main features; the eye. What happens when I come forth with one taped eye? I will give my own opinion and final conclusion off the noticeable behaviour of people that were surrounding me during this investigation.

   Investigating

I started investigating with my taped eye; Doing my daily grocery shopping at the Albert Heijn. Noticing that passers looked ones , after the first impression about one of the 5 people looked at me in a shocked way. Some people whispered and giggled. A few hours later I went to a friend in Utrecht. Sitting in the train passers were looking at me little longer than to the person that was sitting next to me. When we went shopping and drinking some wine on the terrace, groups of people  my age were staring noticeable. My behaviour stayed completely normal, just having a good time with my friend. After an hour or two I started to find it funny, and I noticed that the people sitting around me were staring less because of my completely normal behaviour. These day made me aware off the group behaviour in Utrecht. Mostly the people my age began giggling, whispering to each other what I found disrespectful. Older people were most of the time just looking curious, but didn’t laugh or began talking about me.

The next few days a went to my parents in Grave (Brabant). This little town with only 10.000 residents is a typical country place and I found the people there really hospitable and warm. But if you look in different in one way or another they will treat you as an outsider.

Because I grew up there lots of people knew me already. They were just asking questions about what was happened to me. In the city centre I noticed people looked shocked when I walked by. But in contrast with Utrecht people weren’t talking and laughing because my weird appearance. They seemed to have more compassion for me than in Utrecht.

    Noticeable changes in behaviour

Before I started the test, I decided to behave as normal as possible. Just being the person who I really am/was. When I started the first day I found myself being a little sarcastic, because I knew people who’d react in a certain way. My behaviour changed during this day because of the striking reaction some people were propagating. It made me feel aware that people do not see you as a modern person anymore. The look in their eyes changed in uncertainty, they didn’t know how to react. As the day slipped by I became more aware of the reason people were reacting different on my whole appearance. It was only because of the striking change of my eye. It made me feel uncertain!

I just wanted to rip the tape off and scream ‘’I am normal people’’. They didn’t see my whole appearance any more, they were only looking at my facial imperfection. On a certain point I felt mad of the disrespect I saw on peoples faces.

In this point I started to see the test from a whole new perspective, what if people always behave this striking on your appearance? My behaviour became less pronounced even when I was with a friend were I feel totally at ease with. When possible I even tried to avoid looking people straight in the eye.

When a walked on my one I tried to be invisible, to evade peoples reaction. Can this behaviour also infect me as a person and will my character change?

      Influential factors and their impact

Of course it is just a first impression and my experience of imperfection was not for long term. Noticing that the first impression of people has a huge impact on me as a person. According to the page ’ugly people’ are being treated different by their parents, low expectations lack of self-esteem can be the result.

It makes me think that children from parents who treat them as if they are beautiful because of their inside are a lot different than the people that were always treaded inferior. Accepting yourself is something your parents teach you in your education. When people are educated well and respect their own imperfections, they will have the same character and behaviour as they would have without imperfection. The first impression is something you learn to deal with. Its in the way you let it affect you, are you strong enough to show them different. The first real contact might be a bit harder because your looks are exceptional. People see you as an sight. Ones people get to know the inner person they will threat you as a person and not only the imperfection. Because it’s the inside that counts in the end. We just have to pierce trough.

      Conclusion

This investigation woke me up in a certain way. Feeling this vulnerable was not the physical reaction I expected. Also noticing that it’s just the way we act and behave, that provokes reaction in our surroundings. Self-confidence and self-acceptance are certainly needed to stay honest and carry out the real you.

Our surroundings influence us in a very obvious in this case negative way. The experience of people only seeing you as an imperfection made me realise that it’s hard to stay true to ourselves when feeling different because of the way we look. But this is something we learn by educating and growing up as a person.  What concludes that our true character and behaviour are made elastic (easily effected) by our education and surrounding behaviour.


 


  

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

