Skip to content

Have you gone mad!

April 26, 2010

Where others get their inspiration out of the beautiful things of life, I catch myself more often having a preference for the sad and sometimes dark sides of our existence. The paintings of the French artist Jean Rustin made me realise this for the first time. De figurative images disturbed me, but were mostly intriguing. Rustin made the remark that the portrayed ones could be just as well “you and me”.  This got me to think about the question how thin the line is between normal and abnormal? With the aid of literature, art, photography, documentaries and the museum The Dolhuys, I tried to answer this question as good as possible.

 [ Research paper: HAVE YOU GONE MAD! ]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

