Skip to content

Energy from a magical surrounding

February 16, 2010
by

Last week I saw Sean Penns movie Into the Wild. You  might all know what it’s about; A guy who, after he graduates, gets rid of all his contacts and belongings and travels into the wild.

I loved it. Not only because I thought the immaterialistic attitude was really inspiring, but also because of the freedom that it’s about. The beautiful nature, the not needing to know what time it is or where you are defines for me the ultimate freedom. I personally find that feeling -a little bit more low-level, but still – by wandering the beach in winters, the cold wind in your face and the salt air..

I’ve been thinking about what exactly it is that makes that feeling of freedom. I think it is in the magical surrounding. A surrounding that is not common for you, takes your breath away, touches you emotionally. Like the light installation by Bruce Munro above. It makes you forget everything what was in your head, makes you focus on the moment. That’s what gives me energy.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Annemarie permalink*
    February 19, 2010 9:43 am

    What a nice post! I like the film ”Into the wild”, but sometimes the magical surounding seems a little bit lonely to me. Where is the Bruno Munro light installation? I want to run between those light:)

  2. Judith permalink*
    February 25, 2010 9:17 pm

    The field of light was traveling all over the world. I don’t think it has been in the Netherlands yet, it would be nice to have it at the Museumplein tough..!

Leave a Reply

